Open Ballot: Ogun NANS chooses new sailors

The National Association of Nigerian Students NANS-JCC Ogun State axis recently at the Senate meeting/elections held at Moshood Abiola Polytechnic, Abeokuta chose new executive members for continuity.

NANS, as part of her customs, elected qualified executive members from across tertiary institutions in the state as leaders to paddle the boat and affairs of the organization for the next administration.

Following the open ballot module operadi, Comrade. Francis Adeyanju, Federal College of Education, Abeokuta, emerged as the Chairman.

Comrade. Wasiu Yusuf, Federal Polytechnic, Ilaro emerged as the Deputy Chairman.

Comrade. Femi Owoeye, Moshood Abiola Polytechnic, Abeokuta elected in as the union’s Secretary General.

Comrade. Temitope Fadilu, Ogun State Institute of Technology, Igbesa, elected as Treasurer.

Others include: Comrade. Saminu Oladipupo, DS Adegbenro Polytechnic, Itori as Vice Chairman on Special Duties, Comrade. Timothy Odeleye, Tai Solarin University of Education, Ijebu as Vice Chairman on External Affairs, Comrade. Hassan Sodiq, Federal University of Agriculture, FUNAAB, Abeokuta as Public Relations Executive, Comrade. Matthew Francis, Gateway Polytechnic, Saapade as Director of Special Duties, Comrade. Sufiza Sunday, Moshood Abiola Polytechnic as Director of Travels and Exchange, Comrade. Olorunshola Akintan, Abraham Adesanya Polytechnic as Director of Action and Mobilization, Comrade. Omole Yomade, National Open University of Nigeria as Director of Gender, Comrade. Sinzu Gbohunmi, Ogun State Polytechnic of Health and Allied Services as Financial Secretary, Comrade. Zikirulia Akinsanya, Olabisi Onabanjo University, Ago Iwoye as Director of Welfare, Comrade. Alaga Samson, Moshood Abiola Polytechnic, Abeokuta as Director of Sports, Comrade. Taiwo Adeolu, Sikiru Adetona College of Education, Science and Technology as Assistant Secretary General, Comrade. Oluwasegun Kuruyo, Moshood Abiola Polytechnic, Abeokuta as Social Director, Comrade. Afeez Bashi, Federal University of Agriculture, FUNAAB Abeokuta as Director of Programme and Strategy, Comrade Abdulbaki Adedokun, Federal University of Agriculture FUNAAB Abeokuta as Director of Logistics, Comrade. Toheeb Shittu, Abraham Adesanya Polytechnic, Ijebu Igbo as Director of Media Engagement, Comrade Philip Oladele, Moshood Abiola Polytechnic Abeokuta as Director of Games (to work directly with the Sports Director), Comrade. David Eremosele, Gateway Polytechnic Saapade as Director of Contact.

The outgoing NANS Chairman Ogun JCC, Comrade Damilola Simeon and the Senate President, Comrade Akeem Akinwunmi who presided over the meeting appreciated Nigerian Students in the state as well as senators, stake holders who stood the fore fronts to defend the union’s reputation.

The outgoing NANS Chairman also commended the Governor’s level of responsiveness and foresightness in giving the students’ Constituency a representative, who has been active, in the person of Comrade. Adeyemi Amoo Azeez.

The presiding Senate President while recognizing the presence of some reputable stakeholders, Comrade. Yekinni, Emeritus Secretary General, Students Union Government, Olabisi Onabanjo University, Comrade. Ademola, Director on Security Matters, PSM, Comrade. Oyebola, Outgoing NANS Ogun Financial Secretary amongst other senators, stakeholders, and Nigerian Students in attendees charged them not to be beclouded by personal sentiments nor discouraged as history will definitely vindicate the just.

Senators/Students Union Presidents present include: Sen. Habeebuliah Tijani, Federal University of Agriculture FUNAAB Abeokuta, Sen. Gabriel Francis, DS Adegbenro ICT Polytechnic, Itori, Sen. Idowu Alex Olatunji, Gateway ICT Polytechnic Saapade, Sen. Olamilekan Hassan, Sikiru Adetona College of Education, Science and Technology, Omu Ijebu, Sen. Michael Onayemi, Institute of Petroleum, Oni, Sen. Adesope Oluwatimilwhin, Ogun State Cooperative College, Ijeja, Sen. Oduroye Rokeebat, Federal College of Education, Abeokuta, Sen. Olawale Rafiu, Ogun State Polytechnic of Health Sciences and Allied Services, Ilese, Sen. Michael Tijani, Federal Polytechnic, Ilaro, Sen. Jeremiah Asogba, Social Development Institute, Iperu, Sen. Babatunde Adeleye, Moshood Abiola Polytechnic, Abeokuta, Sen. Hammed Emmanuel Akinjetan, Tai Solarin University of Education, Ijebu, Sen. Michael Soaga, Ogun State Institute of Technology, Igbesa, Sen. Abdul-Azeez Abdul, Abraham Adesanya Polytechnic, Ijebu Igbo, respectively.